Mar. 23rd, 2001

effervescible: (Default)
The computer screen is starting to stare back at me.
effervescible: (Default)
I must sleep so I can do homework in the morning. :-/
effervescible: (Default)
Just got an e from my fiction prof. The critical essay we have to do--which was due Monday, which I have not even started--is now due a WEEK later! Wahoo! The Weekend O' Fun will not be stifled! My slacking is justified!

In other news, the Chrono Cross soundtrack really rocks. I wannit.
effervescible: (Default)
Life is good
effervescible: (Default)
"Who wants to make out with me?"

Well, I said it. Any takers?
effervescible: (Default)
Well, time for a nice long journal. After welcoming myself to the weekend with a healthy dose of Gwen Macsai's "Lipshtick," I'm feeling relaxed yet motivated, and honestly good about myself. I don't know if it's about being a girl (we ARE cool!) or just me, or both, but I'm feeling good. Of course, the first thing I feel I should do to get myself more organized is file my bookmarks. Ahh, the priorities of a dedicated netizen. ;) Gwen is a good writer and damn funny, and all the dating anecdotes have me thinking about my own situation. For someone who has done very little dating and wouldn't mind the chance to learn more about the phenomenon, I sure haven't done much to increase human contact. That's not to say I'm going to run out to the bars looking for someone to have a Relationship with..."commitment" still skeers me, but that's because I haven't yet met anyone I want to commit *to*. Since I never have, all I can imagine when I picture such a thing is me trapped with someone. And unless I lose my mind and go all co-dependent, that won't happen. I'm smart, funny, and more attractive than not if I do so myself, and I need to remember that. There's a difference between being full of yourself and liking yourself.

Something Giller said the other day has me re-thinking about an old topic. Why *don't* more girls like stuff like RPGs, fantasy, anime etc? Of course, I don't have a good perspective since my roomie-to-be is an anime nut and has a whole fantasy site and I've managed to corrupt two of my other close friends here to Sailor Moon and Final Fantasy, but apparently I'm a rare breed. Girls always play "let's pretend" as kids, and there's lots of fairy princess-ing going on (I wouldn't insult our sex by generalizing us as a bunch of frilly pink gigglers). So why not RPGs etc? I think FF8 is a good opener because of the love story. (And it has symbolism, dammit! SYMBOLISM!!!!!!) And video game music is beautiful--even my parents like the FF8 orchestral CD. They thought it was a movie soundtrack. (In a way, I suppose it is.) And MST3K is funny. So...why not? I don't pretend to have any answers. The question shouldn't be "Why sci-fi and fantasy?" The question should be "Why not sci-fi and fantasy?" I'm just going to keep doing what I like and mentally flipping the bird at peple who don't like it.

Bon Jovi is cooler than I knew. Bed of Roses is a good song. Thanks for whoever recommended it this week. I've been doing a lot of lj-song DLing lately. Sorta like randoming, I guess. And someone randomed me! I feel so special. *grin* I wish iMesh would get me off the queue for the Queensryche mp3s so I can finally hear them. Damned Napster firewall. Oh, well, the university is providing me with ethernet, so they're not all bad. Speaking off--mater y padre signed up for Roadrunner! I was floored, I never expected to get cable access at home. I won't be able to connect my `puter upstairs now, but at least I won't have to deal with mindspring's piss-porr connection.

Enough yammering for now. To the Yajemobile, away!

Profile

effervescible: (Default)
Jaina

July 2021

S M T W T F S
    123
45678 910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 07:36 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios