effervescible: (chi is off to work)
Jaina ([personal profile] effervescible) wrote2009-02-11 11:53 pm
Entry tags:

New milestone!

Tonight I ran two miles for the first time! I've been doing the Couch-to-5k program and this was the forst stage where I ran a significant distance with no periods of fast-walking. Went faster than usual, too-I usually have it set at 5 but I got up to 5.5 tonight. (I don't know if that's MPH or just an arbitrarily numbered setting on the gym treadmill.) I feel really good about myself! I did the initial stages way more than the plan suggests, but that's the cool thing-you can move up to the next bit whenever you feel ready, and you're still building endurance the whole time. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants to trim down or just get more fit, and I am not a natural runner.

BTW, some of the comments to this post came after I was home and netless for about another 24 hours, but I wanted to update those who were kind enough to try and help or just sympathize. I don't know exactly what landlord did to fix it, although I told him to just try resetting the router-I was away all day on Saturday and it was on when I came home, so I'm guessing that's what he did and that's what worked. So it wasn't me. SO THERE.

Let's hope it doesn't cack out for a while now. I get the shakes when cut off from the Intertubes for too long.

[identity profile] c0untmystars.livejournal.com 2009-02-12 07:37 am (UTC)(link)
Congrats, that's awesome :)

[identity profile] sophiap.livejournal.com 2009-02-12 11:34 am (UTC)(link)
That's awesome about the Couch to 5K program! Go you, with the endurance!

It's funny you should mention this program, but I'm going to start C25K this weekend, as are a few of my co-workers.

[identity profile] arafel.livejournal.com 2009-02-12 01:41 pm (UTC)(link)
Hurray for you! Only about one more mile to go to 5K!