The race stuff bugs the shit out of me too. We get a very interesting character with potential in Canfield ... he poofted himself out of existence! Sad thing? I knew it was coming, long before it happened. Not to mention that Knox is on the side of the villains. *SIGH* I've ranted enough on the he-man woman-hating in my own reviews of the eps thusfar ... and I'm ranted out.
I can't believe I forgot the drug dealer. I'm trying so hard to forget Mohinder even exists ... *sigh* And to think this was supposed to be the big improvement fans have been waiting for. I said it before, I'll say it again: I BLAME JEPH LOEB.
And... you know, fighting back against the violence on their own. Which, clearly Meredith, Claire, and Sandra will be doing. Maya it's less clear, but with Nathan and Tracy there too, it's not like we've got a situation where the damsel is being saved by the man. They'll all probably pitch in.
I don't see how it's the benefit of the doubt. It's what they are factually setting up to do, between having Claire and Sandra as the only characters aware of Meredith's situation and Tracy's power as the only one likely to be useful against sticky cocoons.
Heroes has some race and gender issues in general that have made me go :/ and make me less interested in sitting through the abuse to get to the kickass redemption. I'm so, so tired of female heroes getting thrown into rape-parallel situations. My weariness at such might not be solely Heroes' fault, but that doesn't make it more fun to watch.
I'm perfectly on board with talking about race and gender issues in Heroes, and I can under how an expectation that they might follow through on something you haven't enjoyed in the past wouldn't interest you. I'm not one to automatically assume the worst, but I suppose it just doesn't get to me as badly. The concept of a puppetmaster would be creepy no matter what, and I'm fairly satisfied to see a "nice guy" portrayed as a villain rather than someone who is misunderstood. Maybe it would be better to do that kind of character with the male heroes, maybe not, but since Claire has already proven herself fully competent in the field in non rape parallel situations, I okay with her taking that on. It's not the only thing she ever faces.
I'm not saying Heroes never does anything right, otherwise I wouldn't be watching to begin with, but even though the puppet guy has a power that could be creepy and cool, seeing him already violating a woman like that in a way that fairly shrieks of rape parallel warning signals just some vomit up my throat. And it's a general sick-of-it-all-ness, not limited to this specific plot event, so explaining this one away doesn't really make it better overall. Hey, for all I know I will think the next episode is the awesomest thing that ever awesomed, but based solely on what's actually aired, I just wish it had gone differently.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
And the only non-villain black guy this season is ANOTHER MAGICAL NEGRO. Like the Haitian (who still doesn't have a gorram NAME) wasn't enough?!
no subject
no subject
At this point I'm only watching for my teevee boyfriend *indicates icon*
no subject
no subject
I do like Tracy better than Niki OR Jessica though.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject