Jaina (
effervescible) wrote2005-01-07 12:34 am
Entry tags:
So unproductive
Today I spent some time reading through some old X-Men comics, circa mid-nineties. I was fondly reminded of how good they were back then, for the most part, and I remembered why I loved certain characters so much. It also highlighted how desperately out of character Cyclops is these days, so bit of a double-edged sword there. How do you go from him recalling that on his wedding day, he looked into Jean's eyes and thought "I will never let you be hurt. I will never lose you" to "OMG going 2 fux0rs emma now LOLZ kthxbai!"? Oh em geez. It might not annoy me so much if it hadn't been an obvious attempt at Grant Morrison making Scott his Marty Stu. Sigh. RAGE.
I think I'm going to scan the issue where Jean faces off with Sabretooth (X-Men #28, I believe), because it really reminded me of why I like Jean so much. This is the issue I should pull out and shriek over when people say she's just a canon sue. (Which she is under certain writers, but then, certain writers retconned Kitty to a teenagers. Writers FUCK UP on occasion.) "Look! She was comforting but not condescending to Jubilee! She told off the Professor instead of kowtowing! She and Scott had a mature and realistic discussion about their emotional issues! She wore a very snappy blazer!" Okay, maybe that last part is just me. This issue also took place during the Nicieza/Kubert run (best art EVAR) which really was my favorite.
Sigh. I need some X-Men icons. And then I need to alphabetize my comic book collection. Why? Because I am anal. Yes.
I think I'm going to scan the issue where Jean faces off with Sabretooth (X-Men #28, I believe), because it really reminded me of why I like Jean so much. This is the issue I should pull out and shriek over when people say she's just a canon sue. (Which she is under certain writers, but then, certain writers retconned Kitty to a teenagers. Writers FUCK UP on occasion.) "Look! She was comforting but not condescending to Jubilee! She told off the Professor instead of kowtowing! She and Scott had a mature and realistic discussion about their emotional issues! She wore a very snappy blazer!" Okay, maybe that last part is just me. This issue also took place during the Nicieza/Kubert run (best art EVAR) which really was my favorite.
Sigh. I need some X-Men icons. And then I need to alphabetize my comic book collection. Why? Because I am anal. Yes.

no subject
I do not know.
Sigh. RAGE.
Word.
no subject
He even went so far as to say he wanted to kill off Rogue and reinvent her as the craptastic, angsty, wannabe gothic movie-verse version of her. W.T.F.?! His reasoning? He never bought Rogue's whole "seductive sex kitten" thing, because she didn't know who she was and couldn't touch other people, so why all the games? Um, because, you stupid fucker - she's a amalgamation of MANY DIFFERENT PEOPLE and their personalities work THROUGH her.
I'd go so far as to say he's almost as bad as "Fuckin' Austen", whom I just discovered made Polaris Magneto's DAUGHTER. I say again: W.T.F.?!
I've reserved a special hell for those two ass clowns who write the new New Mutants book, though.
no subject
His DAUGHTER? But there was a whole storyline back in the day about how they thought she was his daughter and she wasn't! GAH!
You and me, we need to form some kind of pre-Millennium X-Men appreciation society or something.
no subject
We need to invent a time machine. Go back before all these idiots started writing for X-titles and submarine them, so they never get jobs with Marvel. I think Illiyana Rasputin might be able to help out there.
no subject
no subject
To play a bit of devil's advocate: Morrison is, in general, a weird cat (well, weirder than your average comics writer) and has a tendency towards adapting classical archetypes and more than a little Freud into his writing. I think there were a lot of problems with his run but I give him credit for attempting something different with a book that too often in the last couple years descends into melodramatic retreads of old storylines.
no subject
::sigh:: All back at the parents' place, though. I could re-read all of Ellis's Pete Wisdom issues over and over.
And it's totally not because I had a crush on the character when I was fifteen.no subject
One:
Uh... I didn't know where to reach you, so I thought posting a comment in one of your LJ entries was the best thing. Anywho, I have a whole bunch of icons which might be yours, but I'm not sure.
Anywho, I'd like to credit your work and uh... well.... the link explains it all:
http://www.livejournal.com/community/bebopicons/46238.html
TWO: After reading your latest LJ entry... you sound like my one of my comic lovin' buddies! No, I'm NOT trying to hook you guys up or anything (wtf? That'd be completely weird and abnormal of me), so please keep that in mind. Anywho,
*shrugs* whatever.
no subject
no subject
Anywho, thank you, and I look forward to more of your icons!
no subject